9 comments on “Why I Am Going Gluten Free in July

  1. Hey Chris,

    Awesome that you take on the challenge of going gluten-free without actually being medically required to do so. Unlike your friends you are most likely not even going to find out if you have been “glutened” unless you cheat knowingly.

    Wanted to share some advice on going gluten-free:
    1. Read labels. All of them.
    2. Wheat is relatively easy to avoid, rye and barley are the tricky ones. Best advice ever: only shop the perimeter of the store!
    3. Check the Gluten Intolerance Group and the Celiac Sprue Association websites for advice on what you can eat
    4. Follow some good blogs with gluten-free recipes

    And there is absolutely no need to give up on cereal!! Though it is somewhat of a pitch, I invite you to check out http://www.customchoicecereal.com and go crazy 😉

    Have a great 4th of July weekend!

  2. I think it’s awesome that you’re going gluten free. As a celiac, I am so appreciative and thankful when I meet a chef who understands the importance of a truly gluten free meal:cross contact issues and all.
    As you noted, many gluten free processed foods are low in fiber, although that is beginning to change with more new companies using more health conscious recipes. We can benefit from incorporating more vegetables.
    Welcome to living gluten free! I am looking forward to watching your journey!

  3. Good luck – you just might find that you feel a lot better by the end of the month, too! It is a challenge, but it’s oh so worth it.

  4. Still craving pizza? Lots of spots for g-free pizza in KC! Waldo, SPIN!, Pizza Fusion, Ingredient…Just ask for the g-free crust and you’re all set! If you want a quick pizza at home, the Udi’s crust is awesome and even works well for a grilled pizza.

    Good luck on your journey. Can’t wait to see what you come up with in the next month!

  5. You wanted notice on items you might accidentally consume with Gluten.

    Onion Powder typically has Gluten from some kind of wheat product to bulk it up. Maltodextrin, in the USA, is typically wheat based unless they note that it is derived from corn.

    Also I avoid any manufactured product (refried beans) that does not have a Gluten Free label of some sort.

    • Josh,

      Thanks a lot. Reading labels is one of the fun parts about changing your diet. I had no idea about Maltodextrin and I shudder thinking about what it might have been in that I’ve eaten over the past few days.

      Maybe I’m not doing as well as I thought.

      I’ll go back and read my refried beans label, but I wouldn’t be surprised if it had maltodextrin in it.

      • Interesting entry on Maltodextrin in Wikipedia. It actually says in the US maltodextrin is corn-based, but definitely should look for the gluten free label.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *